Cryobank · Sperm Donor

Cryobanks

K and I have been researching which bank for M to ahem, make his deposit. I’m just going to be honest: sperm is expensive. It is a natural, freely available biological fluid. It is manufactured in the testis of male-bodied humans every damn day. What reason could there possibly be for it to cost $4000 to collect, test and store about 1 tsp of fluid?! I know, I know something something expensive equipment, testing standards, blah, blah, blah.

Oh, and in case you didn’t know, there’s a 6 month hold on the sperm too. Even though we have a signed agreement. Even though he is getting STD tested by the facility. It doesn’t matter. He is not my sexual partner so we have to wait 6 months to use the sperm. Which also means we pay 6 months of storage fees.

Anywho, just a quick update on where we are in this process. I think we are currently in sticker shock. At this point, we are continuing to look into cryobanks but I’m secretly hoping that my upcoming OBGyn appointment on the 27th will yield some promising fertility lab results. In which case, I might feel as though we can relax a bit on the cryobank stuff. I’ll update once I have my labs back from that appointment.

Question(s) for the hive mind: has anyone reading used a known donor and stored sperm at a cryobank? What was the process like for you? Were you able to use the sperm prior to 6 months? Leave a comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

